!DOCTYPE html> Blog
RETURN HOME

ENTRIES August 2022-2023

MEDIA ★★★



16th of August 2024

Extra Info About The Ahoy Project, PART II

Captain DeChézy is from Marseille and she was actually born into wealth but her parents lost their fortunes when she was just a baby. She has been working in the maritime industry in one way or another since she was 13! It's all she knows. She has been through some extremely dangerous situations while on board (fires, pirate attacks, hurricanes, shipwrecks and so on) throughout the years but she genuinely enjoys her job and she wants to buy a sailboat of her own when she retires. Her first name is a sssecret (it's not anything shocking, but she doesn't want her subordinates to know so as to keep things professional.) She takes great pride in being a captain.

C/M Manning is from a small coastal town in Louisiana and she worked in the commercial fishing sector there until she changed her mind (in her late 20s probably?) and became a merchant mariner. She's of Irish, English and Cajun descent and full name is Ruth Eugenia Manning. I think of her as someone who is too concerned with being liked by everyone for her own good. She and DeChézy have worked multiple times in the past and they get each other pretty well. They often hang out in their free time and the Campos sisters sometimes tag along with them too.

Ch. Engineer Campos -first name Josefa- and Flavia are from the Northeast region of Brazil. Josefa was a gifted student in STEM subjects and dreamt of studying mechanical engineering when she was little. Due to circumstances, she wasn't able to pursue that in adulthood and settled for less by becoming an engine officer. She likes her job though and she encouranged her less talented than her sister to follow her path too, so they can be close and work together. They're mainly of amerindian, portuguese and italian ancestry.

This counts as a spoiler I suppose: Flavia is a siren (the avian kind) and only her and Josefa know. She can change her form at her will. Why is she a siren and her biological sister is not? Does it have any plot significance? Who knows. Certainly not me, the writer, who just wanted to put a siren in the mix.

3rd of July 2024

Extra Info About The Ahoy Project, PART I


Note: I feel sort of bad for not updating my blog, so I thought I might share some information about the Ahoy! project even though this is perhaps not the appropriate page to do so. Anyways, I hope this is interesting to some.

In my head Ahoy! would ideally be 80% newspaper comic strip type of gags and 20% a comic with actual plot and perhaps even character development. I've thought up backgrounds for most of the characters, but I fear I might be taking the pure joy of stupid comedy away from this project by making them more complicated. Either way, here they are:

Leni is from rural Laconia. She has 5 siblings: two younger, two older and one twin sister. She used to herd sheep and grow crops for a living before she became a mariner. She picked up the guitar the moment she first went on board and has been practising ever since. She's not by any means good and she doesn't know many songs due to her isolated upbringing, but she learns as time passes. Her actual given name is Lemonia!

Dian is Javanese, probably from East Java and she is an only child. She was raised by her grandfather because her parents passed away when she was really young. She was the kind of child (and she still is the kind of adult) who would bring snakes and other wild animals to her grandpa and ask him if they could keep them. I haven't decided yet about what she was doing before she became a mariner but I know she wanted to become one so as to experience an adventure of sorts.

Marta is from Panama City and a city gal in every way. She was a straight A+ in humanities back when she was in school and now she is a university student who took a gap year to make money (so she can support her writing, as it says on her bio). It takes her a long time to be able to manage the physical aspect of her job, because of how unathletic she is (PE was her lowest grade in school). She has two older siblings. Her middle name is Rocío.

9th of February 2024


In two days it will be the 2nd anniversary of this site!

Last year to celebrate the occasion I made a blog entry in which I expressed my gratitude toward neocities and its community. I also complained a fair amount about Instagram and my inability to do anything of value there.

My love for neocities and non-commercial websites in general still holds up and so I managed to make an update around every start of the month! A lot of things are still incomplete or in need to be fixed, but I’m really proud of how my website is so far. The Ahoy! page is now full of things to read and look at, I made a museum-like corner with 12 entries and I made lots of drawings in 2023 I like. My only issues are that I made very few blog entries last year and that my writing on the media page is bad. Writing is still a massive obstacle to me but I think I’m getting slowly better at it as time passes.

Now that I’ve grown on Instagram considerably compared to last year, that blog entry I made back then about having a small following feels very petty. There is an enormous amount of artists om the internet. Even if social media was perfect for posting art (and it did everything artists complain about on those threads advertisements I’ve been getting) it’d be impossible for everyone to get the attention they want. It’s even stupider to ask for that in my case, considering how I don’t take this with enough seriousness to begin with (I don’t make reels, I don’t draw things that are popular, I don’t follow many people, I am not skilled at art enough, etc).

Honestly, if you are a hobbyist like me, having a handful of people who care about your art is all you need. I get very sweet comments now and then and I somehow managed to become mutuals with incredible artists.

Anyway, thank you tagging along and hats off to another year!

28th of September 2023


This October marks the start of my 4th year at uni, as hard as that is to believe. It’s not my final one (five years are mandatory for the thing I study here) but it feels weird. In my head I graduated from high school, like, yesterday.

Last year had me begging for my life academically-wise so I really, REALLY hope that this year will be easier, or I become somehow more hardworking. Also, I’ll be having two professors I dislike plus one I can’t stand at all this semester so I don’t know how I will get to endure their lectures. The only good thing is that there are no laboratory classes as far as I’m aware.

It's been a while since the last time I showed photos btw so I'm putting these old ones from a trip here.







The french made a board game about the greek revolution while it was stil going on. Classic french shenanigans.